Following his solo version of ‘Too Much’ comes another new single called ‘Happens’ from our guy Sampha. Piano led and naturally emotive, Sampha performs his delicate new ballad through a silhouette. Nothing beats what this guy is doing – especially when it comes to soul music, which is still trying to churn out shit we could have heard back in ’96-’98. This though, this is now.

Buy via iTunes now.

When Drake employed Sampha to appear on his new album, he exposed one of musics best kept secrets to the type of global audience only superstars like Drake have access to. We’ll never forget seeing this guy, who we along with a few other key bloggers, have supported from day, appearing on Jimmy Fallon with Aubrey. An opportunity that otherwise probably wouldn’t have presented itself without Drizzy’s co-sign. And while ‘Too Much’ on NWTS was special enough, Sampha’s newly unearthed original solo version, now titled ‘Too Much / Happens’ tips the scale one step further. And well, I don’t suppose I need to tell you how beautiful it is… 

So, this is what this London soul boy has been brewing all this time? Damn.

Kwabs returns with the impeccably stunning, SOHN produced ‘Last Stand’. A perfect concoction of rich, velvety vocals wrap themselves around a gothic production as layer upon layer of warbling synths stream across an fierce and soul drenched soundscape. In a nutshell – this is stunning. Pressing play will most definitely be the best thing you do today.

Consider yourself introduced to Phoenix Martins, a singer/songwriter from London who dabbles in pop, R&B and soul. Prepare to be blown away by Phoenix’s enchanting, elegant and emotional vocal in ‘Sideways’, as she croons over a velvety backdrop, laden with warm, shimmering strings and a soft percussive push. The equally haunting yet simple visual, sees the songstress, demonstrate how to convey a song’s mood to immaculate perfection. Peep the video up top, this song will linger with you for a long time, mark my words.

The Internet’s new album Feel Good may just be the best soul album I’ve heard in a while, we’ve made no secret here of our discontentment of the genres output over the past few years or more. ‘Dontcha’, co-produced by Chad Hugo, is definitely one of the best showcases of how this Odd Future outfit has evolved since Purple Naked Ladies. I only wish it was released in the summer. Anyways – take a look at Syd, Matt and their band performing the song live at FADER PORT this week.

Rising British singer Moko applies her powerful vocal presence all over her new single ‘Honey Cocaine’, a dramatic new power ballad which sees her flexing every facet of her 21 year young voice. The songs chilled, soulful production works as the perfect sound bed for Moko’s eruptive performance – arguably her best to date. Moko’s vocals during the last half of the song in particular is actually pretty mind blowing…

When your ears are first introduced to ‘Tomorrow‘, the latest track from the illusory Ofei’s impending London EP, you’ll be entranced by the sprinkling of chiming piano chords and Ofei’s raw, category-defying vocals.  The accompanying visual too, adds another layer to the singer’s mysterious and intriguing enigma, as partial shots are broken down by a plethora of suggestive imagery hinting to the crooner’s background. Ever since he emerged in 2012, this dread-locked man has kept us guessing and guessing, as to what he’ll do next, drawing us into his ever so soulful concoctions of beautiful sounding music.


London duo Jungle continue to dabble with their sweet sounding electronics as they gear up for the release of new single ‘The Heat‘ by unleashing  the accompanying B-side, ‘Lucky I Got What I Want’. The pair throw a spanner in the works with this being their first sparse, slow-burning record to date, yet keeping in sync with their incredibly distinct, soulful and hypnotic aesthetic from previous tracks. Four songs in and they haven’t put a foot wrong, hit play below and be sure to catch the two tracks come October 21st.

When I first heard ‘PrimeTime’ at Janelle’s album preview in London this summer, I wasn’t instantly grabbed. Something didn’t feel right. But since the release of The Electric Lady and within the context of the album – I’ve grown to enjoy it (it’s still not my favourite song on the album though). Featuring R&B’s rising prince Miguel, the strength of ‘PrimeTime’ is in the way that it feels like a good ol’ fashioned crossover duet – the kind that died out time ago. It also mark one of Monae’s safest songs to date, especially considering the exploratory heights of her early EP’s and debut album. Disappointingly though the video falls victim to the tracks traditionalism and offers almost nothing exciting or new, an unfortunate notion which reminds me of my initial thoughts of the song.

The song is a great radio coup and hopefully serves it’s purpose well – the world needs to catch on to this lady, I just hope it doesn’t come at too high a price.

London’s soulful starlet Ofei delivers a stunner of a new track with his brand new single ‘Tomorrow’. The poignancy of the way he utilises auto-tune coupled with the sweet intricacy of his piano melodies result in an angelically empowering record. Of course it isn’t the first time we’ve been dazzled by his mysterious brilliance, just give his outstanding debut ‘London‘ a spin – it’ll definitely have you gasping for breath. 

Page 6 of 4145678203040