Having just released their debut EP The Face last month, the Disclosure boys look set to steal the dance again by way of this new remix edition that’s just offered up. The 4-track extended player features production from Dixon, Joe Goddard, Mak & Pasteman and Medlar – all of whom recreate the originals in their own uniquely warped, bubblin’ way.

Stream below. Purchase here.

Hot on the heels of the release of their remix of The xx’s ‘Angels‘ and an excellent Shadow Box remix before that, the Cardiff based production duo release two tracks of their own ‘Emanation’ & ‘Sy’ that will form an EP to be released on Ifan Dafydd’s label Push & Run this September 3rd. Like Bondax and Disclosure before them, these guys are keeping the standards of this current House revival impeccably high.

Producer/rapper Shawn Kemp, known here as Lil’ Ugly Mane keeps things Trap-heavy across his new Supasonic EP. Essentially 7-tracks of ig’nant beat making, the extended player is full of crisp hi-hats and pillaged 808’s, that surprisingly in parts dote over obscure Jazz flavours. Kemp’s traditional use of screwed vocals and chopped samples adds a welcomed amount of unwelcoming atmosphere.

Lil’ Ugly Mane also gets ‘artwork don of the year’ in my opinion – peep the classics here.

L.A native Miguel continues his pusher-man approach to music, announcing via SPIN that he has decided to release his sophomore album in three parts. The first two releases will be 3-track extended players Kaleidoscope Dreams: Water Preview & Kaleidoscope Dream: Fire Preview, followed by a full long player titled Kaleidoscope Dream. These releases succeed Miguel’s critically acclaimed Art Dealer Chic trilogy and again identifies him as one of the more audacious major-label signed artists around.

The first EP features the previously released ‘Adorn’, along with 2 other prog-R&B additions that indicate where Miguel’s head is at for these upcoming releases – pay particular attention to ‘Don’t Look Back’. Production credits across all three releases will include Salaam Remi, Pop & Oak and Jerry Wonda.

PMR signed producer Two Inch Punch serves up a full stream of his new EP Saturn: The Slow Jams ahead of it’s June 25th release. As the singles previously released (here & here) had suggested the extended player brims with intricately layered production armed with nose bleeding basslines and perfectly positioned electronic embellishments. TIP’s knack for building legitimate bedroom messy R&B slow jams while incorporating his more mechanical influences is something few get so right.

Pay particular attention to his next single ‘Digital Love Letters’ – good lord.

You may remember back in January we featured a trailer of Charles Hammond Jr’s debut EP Hello, My Name Is… Despite it’s short length, enough was heard to whet our appetites and intrigue our ears. Thankfully with the project now released (and available for free download), we can report our expectations were met and in parts, exceeded.

Hammond’s 4-track extended player is a dramatic and dynamic offering; A showcase of powerful chops, melodic understanding and song writing. Kindred to the likes of The Foreign Exchange, Maxwell, Dwele and Rahsaan Patterson, Charles infuses his Soul with Jazz, Funk & Rock. Listening to his key changes (especially on the EP’s opening number) I wouldn’t be surprised if he cited Kim Burrell as a influence too.

Refreshingly, Hammond largely avoids the mundane stereotypical approaches to his brand Soul; A spectrum of music in much need of a rejuvenation (in my opinion) right now. ‘The Truth’ does flirt a little close to that ‘middle-of-the-road’ sound but thankfully his powerful performance overshadows most concerns. Not to mention, the strength of the other tracks featured more than makes up – especially ‘(Re) Introduction’ and ‘The Beautiful Struggle’.

Listen and download below.

Barbados born newcomer Haleek Maul has just released a powerful debut EP, Oxyconteen. Hard to fathom he’s only 16.

On Oxyconteen the young rapper manages to curate a dark and at times menacing project filled with tales of teenage angst and life exploration. His lyrical content stands as strong and tall as the production he flows over – production which at times can only be described as…  Beautiful. A lot of promise is being displayed here – both skilfully and creatively. We expect to hear a lot more from this guy.

Download: Haleek Maul – Oxyconteen (EP)

It’s great when cultures clash, great tunes are produced as a result – as was the case the last time LV & Okmalumkoolkat teamed up back in 2010 when they produced this smash.

In the run up to the release of LV’s next EP Get A Grip – Hyperdub have dropped a video for LV & Okmalumkoolkat’s latest collaboration ‘Sebenza’. The video was shot in downtown Jo’burg and features shots of Okmalumkoolkat and his mandem, AirMax 90’s and BMW 3.25’s. On the track itself the pair have once again managed to hit that sweet-spot where Afrobeats meet Electronica and yet again created another smash!

GET A GRIP which will feature performances from Spoek Mothambo, Ruffest & Okmalumkoolkat is out July 23rd on Hyperdub.

A while back, we gave you the first track of TNGHT’s (Hudson Mohawke & Lunice) debut EP which happily confused the dance with its fearless minimal sound; Now the duo have put out a preview sampler for our tasting pleasure. The 5-track extended player is condensed into a mini mix and gives a real sense of where both esteemed producers are planning on taking us.

Packed full of digital sounds trimmed over obtrusive beats and spaced out Trap influences –  these two are very clearly connected by the chemistry of their individual geniuses. Together they’ve readied the sirens, the gun-shots and the pull-ups – all you need to do is prepare to press play.

The EP is officially out on Warp come 23rd July.

TNGHT are also playing their first headline show at Village Underground in London on June 21st – buy tickets here.

After a string of smashing singles the Disclosure boys let loose a full stream of their new EP The Face. Officially out this week, the 4 track extended player features ‘Boiling’, ‘What’s In Your Head’, ‘Control’ and ‘Lividup’ and is/will be one of the best releases you’ll hear this year. Siblings Guy and Howard Lawrence have a natural chemistry and it explodes across all of these tracks.

Stream below and purchase via iTunes.

Page 4 of 172345610