Jul 2012 16

The tumblr universe is about to explode as cult band The xx have unveiled their first piece of new music since their 2009 debut. ‘Angels’ will feature on the groups forthcoming album Coexist, due out on September 10th via Young Turks & the legendary XL Recordings label. Committing to the sound that established them their new offering is soaked in heart bleeding emotion and is lifted to the heavens by a powerful production which grows from a quiet stillness, into a thundering serenade.

The band have also revealed the artwork and tracklist for Coexist – peep that after the jump.



1. Angels
2. Chained
3. Fiction
4. Try
5. Reunion
6. Sunset
7. Missing
8. Tides
9. Unfold
10. Swept Away
11. Our Song

  1. Oskar says:

    Wonderful song <3

  2. Isabelle says:

    Amazing! This is classic XX! Meeeeeelting

  3. Jermaine T says:

    Really though,I’m about to cry.

  4. Tulisa Corsten says:

    Song of the week already.

  5. zelma says:

    …feel like i was expecting more from new xx but they have 10 other tracks to spread their wings i guess…

  6. […] Mercury Prize winning group The xx have just announced a new London show on September 10th, a day before their sophomore album Coexist is released via Young Turks/XL Recordings. Subscribers to The xx’s mailing list will be able to purchase tickets from July 25th, followed by the general public tickets on July 27th. The announcement comes just a week after the band unveiled their stunning lead single ‘Angels’ – listen here. […]

  7. […] Stunning use of overlapping drones and progressive half-time on this sunk, latest shuffler from he who is Jamie XX, now available in full for everyone’s aural pleasuring. Holly Miranda is a singer/songwriter also signed to XL and fans may have caught this remix of her record ‘Slow Burn Treason’ via Jamie’s BBC Essential Mix from last year. The edit really soars as editor fills nooks of the track with some light cacophony, yet it still feels characteristically tropical – this time in some distant Persian bazaar experiencing a sandstorm kind of way. It has us wondering what curve-balls Jamie has coming up for Co-Exist and how precocious he’ll get with the sound despite their prototypical but pretty first single ‘Angels‘. […]

  8. […] band make their impact felt (again) on middle America with new single ‘Angels‘. Watch their purple tinted US television performance from last night that keeps things […]

  9. […] has ever managed to produce. Cannot wait till September 10th. Meanwhile, pair this up with ‘Angels‘ right now for maximum […]